More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, people are choosing to have a baby later on in their life which is contrary to traditional ways. In this essay I will discuss the reasons for such stance. Moreover, I support the view that people should give to children at an early age.

Firstly, times have changed and people are immersed in their jobs and this would leave room for people to take care of infants. Moreover, there is a fear of not being economically stable to fulfill the incumbent and indispensable aspects required to bring up a child. This might be one of the reasons for postponing or having children at a later age than erstwhile. For instance, in earlier days people had less work pressure and were able to dedicate significant time to nurture their child.

However, although there are certain benefits of the former view. I would argue that people should not delay having children too much. As, children born to older people might have health problems or maybe be born prematurely and in some cases, people struggle with not being able to have children and pay continuous visits to IVF centers. In addition to that, the lifespan of people has drastically reduced since the past years. So, parents might not be present during the times when their child needs them the most. Furthermore, older parents in turn would need a helping hand from their children and would not be able to play a predominant role in their life, and the lack of parent causes psychological issues in children, for example, playing a sport with them as their old age would not allow them to do so. This, could steal childhood from children and could be deleterious to the child's growth as a whole.

In conclusion, although there are certain advantages of having children at an older age. People should focus on aspects that are beneficial to the child and themselves and not postpone having a child.