More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

People nowadays have been increasingly deciding to not have children in their early stages of life because most individuals are planning to start a family only after they settle in their careers and are mentally ready. Although it provides financial courage to the parents to raise their kids, there are some setbacks in terms of health and fertility.

To begin with, Giving birth to children is completely the decision to be made by the couple and it should be made only when they are emotionally prepared. However, in the past, there is not much awareness on this topic which led to a whole generation of young adults suffering from childhood trauma. Further, angry or unaffectionate parents will significantly influence the life of the offspring and how they deal with their children. For instance, physical violence on kids is being treated as normal just because the parents have experienced the same violence in their childhood.

In addition, people have been deciding to have kids only when there is a proper and safer atmosphere for the child to grow up. This needs for the parents to have a proper job and financial stability which might take a few years. For example, a software engineer starting at a low salary will have to get a few years of experience in order to have a sufficient income that can support his family.

Nevertheless, there are quite a few drawbacks to starting a family later in life. One such is fertility issues. Humans are generally fertile in the age between 20-30 and after that, the fertility tends to decrease leaving them with less chance to conceive. However, according to a fertility study, there is still an 85% chance to conceive from the age of 30 to 35 and this should not be a problem for most adults.

In conclusion, because of the increased awareness, more people have been deciding to have children in their later age which has more benefits compared to the demerits.