The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is often suggested that science should be dedicated to enhancing the living experience of individuals. I disagree with this statement because people are not the only inhabitants of the Earth and the good of the natural environments should also be addressed by scientific research. Furthermore, studying the factors that could benefit the environment may result in future enhancements of human lives as well, serving both purposes.

To elaborate, it may be argued that the preservation of wildlife and ecosystems ought to be prioritized by empirical research because long-term access to natural resources may be more vital than short-term increases in people’s quality of life. Specifically, excessive research into enhancing individuals’ experiences throughout their daily life may lead to negative outcomes for the nature. For example, studying land cultivation contributes to life quality by speeding up food production for the population. However, this result may be achieved through over-cultivation and deforestation, which ultimately could endanger the planet.

Additionally, if scientific resources were to be directed toward green causes, it could lead to long-term life improvements, fulfilling both human-centered and nature-centered purposes. Precisely, allocating sufficient funds toward discovering sustainable ways of nature-human co-existence may not contribute to short-term convenience of individuals, but it could ensure the maintenance of the planet and pleasant experiences for future generations. For instance, while spending research budget on green energies instead of artificial intelligence could postpone the availability of virtual assistants, it might allow for a cleaner and less polluted air for the future.

In conclusion, I am against the notion that the priority of scientific inquiry should be people and their life quality, because focusing on the environment, taking care of other inhabitants of the Earth, and looking into the future may prove to be more worthwhile contributions.