Now-a-days many people choose to be self-employed, rather than work for a company. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

An increasing number of people are opting to have their own business, instead of working as employees for another business. Although this situation may be the result of an improvement in regard to freedom, it could, nonetheless, prove to be disadvantageous for the individual, as the risk of failure is increased in self-started business.

With regard to the cause, it could be said that the younger generations have been brought up in less strict families, and therefor have not been accustomed to obeying authority figures. To elaborate, one might argue that this generation has had a freer childhood and has been bound by less rules. Consequently, as adults, they tend to prefer environments that are free of the formalities and strict rules that many organizations have in place. This attitude does not bode well with being an employee who works a 9-to-5 job, so more people are deciding to put their time and effort in pursuit of their own dreams, under their own laws, instead of working for another company.

As for the consequences of being self-employed, one might consider that with no authority to strategize and establish order, the self-employed adult might feel lost and lack the external motivation that is necessary to get the job done. It is as if, this pursuit of freedom, could result in too much freedom; meaning there would be no proper structure to provide directions for someone who has started a business. This lack of framework increases the possibility of failure and being defeated by the competition, which could have drastic negative effects on the financial and emotional well-being of the individual.

In conclusion, it could be said that although freedom has always been a cherished value and to opt for freedom and building one’s own career is a brave move, it is not without its dangers, and it could lead to unwanted results.