Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival

periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree

with this opinion?

Some people argue that we are no longer remember the original meaning of traditional or religious festival, instead of, people tend to enjoy in these occasions. While I agree with the idea that enjoyment is seem as the priority during festival periods, I don't agree that people have forgotten the meaning of historical and religious festivals.

On the one hand, religious and traditional festivals are seem as the time for celebration in recent years. Most people choose travelling and experiencing new things in other areas, which is opposite to the traditional way that offsprings coming back to the hometown and gather together. For example, in the UK, Christmas is looking forward to the holiday period as the occasion for giving presents, shopping, decorating home rather than gathering family. The similar situation was happened in Viet Nam with the Lunar New Year, when people spend time travelling with friends or working in big cities for higher salaries instead of coming back home after a long time. The major reason lead to this trend is due to the development of the word which is affect on the recognition of people. Most people do not want to visit relatives or face up to famlily problems, in another way, enjoyment is becoming the people's priority during festival period.

On the other hand, the underlying meaning of religious and historical festivals has not been forgotten. In the UK, children are still taught in detail about the Christmas or Easter and they can sing Christmas song which has a traditional content or perform plays telling about the Jesus's birth. The same was true for the historical occasions in Viet Nam. There are a lot of appealing videos or programs, which arouse patriotism as well as most people was learned about history at an early age. Besides, parents' effort in passing knowledge on the next generations also plays an important role in keeping the underlying meaning of such festivals.

In conclusion, although people mainly want to spend time for themselves rather than for famlily, I believe that the original meaning of religious and tradional festivals are still sustainable.