Most people think that the Internet is good, others think that its disadvantages are more important. What is your opinion? Talking about the advantages and disadvantages of the Internet?

When the issue of the Internet comes into view, there exist conflicting opinions. Some people believe that humans benefit immensely from the Internet, while others hold the claim that it is negatively harmful to society. This essay aims at discussing both sides before representing my perspective on this matter.

On the one hand, there are a great number of advantages to using the Internet. It gives people instant access to information on almost any subject. To be more specific, instead of spending hours looking for information in books or newspapers, humans can now have the answers to any questions in a few seconds provided that the Internet is available. Moreover, the Internet brings convenience to human beings. In other words, there are a variety of shops and other services such as education and even medical, which are now available online. Customers can stay at home and order different kinds of goods, ranging from clothing items to food and drinks. Meanwhile, students are able to register for online courses in different areas and overseas, and at the same time, patients can book an appointment with their doctors online in advance. Take the Covid-19 pandemic as an illustration of the pros of the Internet. Thanks to the Internet, while people have to stay at home to prevent Coronavirus, they can still do most of their daily activities such as shopping, studying and medical care checking online. What can be inferred from this is that the Internet is beneficial to human beings.

On the other hand, although the Internet has certain advantages, its disadvantages should not be ignored. Firstly, the Internet contains offensive content. Specifically, there are many websites that demonstrate violent and sexual images; consequently, these websites may encourage social evils such as sexual harassment and organized crime. Furthermore, the Internet is currently hard to control. Many parents find it difficult to supervise what their children see online and they do not always know whom their children are chatting. As a consequence, this has resulted in many cases of phishing and fraud relating to children. Reportedly, a study in a province in China has recorded that the rate of children being kidnapped through their online friends has tripled since the advent of the Internet. This directly suggests that the Internet is detrimental to small children unless they are under their parents’ scrutiny.

In conclusion, even though the Internet has a wide range of positive perks, its downsides should also be kept in mind. From my point of view, the Internet is one of the greatest inventions of mankind’s history due to its convenience and marvelous appliances. In terms of its cons, governments and authorities should join hands to not only minimize and pass laws on darks websites, but they should raise the awareness of their residents as well.