Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Art galleries and museums play an important role in the preservation of a nation’s culture and history. Some hold the belief that they should put more emphasis on displaying indigenous works that represent national traditions than foreign ones. However, I am in disagreement with this as I suppose that they are of equal significance.

On the one hand, that some people who value the significance of the conservation of traditional values prioritize domestic artifacts over those imported from other countries is understandable. The reason is by visiting museums and exhibitions, young people may have a deeper insight into their own nation. For example, they will have a better grasp at what their forefathers and ancestors had been through as well as how they defeated themselves against foreign invaders during wartime only by taking a look at their clothes, weapons, and other war remnants. This not only brings educational values but also promotes a strong sense of patriotism and national pride in young generations. Moreover, these places have made a great contribution to the preservation of traditional and historical values. Due to international integration, many ethnic minorities are in danger of losing their distinct customs. Therefore, the exposure of their items such as arts and crafts apart from farming tools means to conserve their cultural identities.

On the other hand, I would also argue that it is essential to showcase artifacts coming from other cultures. By exhibiting works from other communities, people’s awareness of exotic antiques is more likely to be raised. This also means people will save a large amount of money because they do not have to travel from one place to another to pursue their passions. In addition to that, when international objects are exhibited, the museums’ content is diversified, leading to an increase in the number of tourists to the area. This is particularly necessary because it partly contributes to the improvement of income for the local residents.

To conclude, I strongly believe that apart from demonstrating the artworks and other old items of their own nations, countries all over the world should also show their respect toward other cultures by bringing foreign artifacts on display.