Music and other arts seem to be features of every society.

In what ways are music and other arts important for societies and for individuals?

It is argued that music and art are integral components of any country on this planet. This idea is indisputable because they are an outlet for an individual’s creativity and a means of uniting people of the same origin.

On an individual level, music and art are an effective form of communication. It has been known for centuries that humans have been producing various works of art, such as symphonies or paintings to communicate a wide range of emotions or inner thoughts to others on a deeper level that can transcend language barriers. To illustrate, it is not unusual to witness people from diverse cultures utilizing a piece of romantic music to express their affections to their lovers, regardless of whether the recipients can fully comprehend the lyrics, as the melody itself effectively conveys the intended messages.

As for a societal context, music and art are also contributing factors for social cohesion. Cultural features, such as national costumes or ethos, are often incorporated into a traditional dance and a folklore to imbue younger generations with the distinctive values of their country which can strengthen the bonds between them and their ancestors. In fact, this way of employing arts to foster national solidarity is evident in Vietnam where young students are taught to develop the same national identity through traditional songs and history lessons. Although this teaching approach might not always achieve the desired outcome due to varying individual perspectives, it has, to a considerable extent, demonstrated success in fostering a unified society.

In conclusion, not only have music and art been playing a vital role in personal interactions due to their universal appeal but also in shaping a country through highlighting shared values binding the people.