The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that rising the petrol cost is one of the most effective solutions to the global environmental issue. From my perspective, I am in complete agreement with this viewpoint due to the following reasons.

The first reason is that the increase in fuel price could address the pollution problem. In other words, when the cost of fuel is expanded, people tend to be resisted from commuting by their private vehicle such as car and motorbike; instead, they are encouraged to carpool or use public transport systems. That means, emissions from private vehicles in megacities are diminished. Take Hanoi as an illustration for the strong link between pollution and petrol fee extension. Reportedly, a study from the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment recorded that the rate of pollution in Hanoi has halved since the government tripled the price of fuel. What can be inferred from this is that it is efficient in decontaminating pollution in megacities once the price of fuel is escalated.

Another reason is that increasing fuel cost may help mankind save their natural resources. To be more specific, if the expense of fuel is raised, people will use their vehicles less, which means fewer raw materials being exploited. Recent research suggests that non-renewable resources associated with fuel price increases strongly. Accordingly, a study in a city in Russia recorded that since the price of fuel soared due to the Russia-Ukraine war, this country has not exploited natural deposits for several months. This directly suggests that increasing fuel prices helps people to save natural resources which are on the edge of depleting.

In conclusion, the price of petrol should be increased because of not only pollution in megacities but also the natural resources.