News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

Today’s world is highly influenced by media such as television, newspapers and other forms as well. It is known that the realm of media, specifically news channels and newspapers, the decision of whatever is to be broadcasted to the public is in the dominion of an editor. In this essay the factors which influence whether to choose good news or bad news will be discussed. Nevertheless, I believe a balance between favorable and unfavorable kinds of news are necessary, and both these views will be elaborated.

As far as I am concerned, there are wide range of factors in regarding to publishing news and broadcasts. The most noticeable, I believe, is that aiming at a high immense of audience rating in order to maximize profits. Additionally, the selection of materials should be done with utmost vigilance, including the political and socio-economic circumstances to avoid sending any misleading information to the audience by the corruption of the system. Nonetheless, the authenticity of media has been effected and controlled entirely by powerful political parties due to various reasons such as need of favor, bribe or grant of access etc.

Subsequently, to entice the audience, negative information often receives more priority than positive ones as any kind of adverse occurrence is more gripping than regular events. However, it is important to realize that subjecting the masses to such bleak happenings daily has a damaging effect on the psyche of the population. On the other hand, I disagree with more good news to be reported, for the simple reason that people likely would not consume those reports. Thus, it is important to strike a balance between good and bad news in order to keep the feelings of hope and motivation alive among the people.

In conclusion, print and electronic media, should emphasize more on empowering, educating, and entertaining the communities. In my opinion, I think news should be a perfect blend of good and bad, so that we can have awareness on what is happening in the world. Moreover, I would like to say that although there are various factors in play when choosing what to report to the audience, the nature of the facts and figures showcased through news media should maintain an equilibrium to avoid demoralizing and demotivating influences.