News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

Television and news are usually controlled by editors as they have the upper-hand on what should be shown, seen or heard. This essay will first look at several elements which might affect their decisions, then outline the public preference, whether people, currently, get used to bad news or prefer to hear only what makes them happy.

According to what is happening around the world, those who sit behind cameras can’t show precisely every single detail as it might cost them their channel reputation. Additionally, money is an essential aspect which couldn’t be neglected by news editors for its importance. Regardless, what’s going on around the whole world, news, ordinarily, tends to display what attracts our society members attention, and make them earn some money, even if it would hurt others’ feeling as they won’t care for anything except money. Consequently, employees like editors, meanwhile, are choosing specific events to be shown as well as particular articles to be printed.

Furthermore, although it is always better to hear good news, truth is necessary to maintain balance among our nation because if people got used to hear solely lies, productivity wouldn’t be expected by any means. Also, broadcasting reality could help in investigating causes and detecting some solutions for our global issues. Living a lie won’t be beneficial to anyone including those who work in media field. So, editors must be factual about the news in addition to articles they are editing, even if the society couldn’t give them encouragement, they must keep delivering real incidents.

As previously stated, more than one factor can affect our programs such as the financial side along with the channels’ and journals’ reputation. Notwithstanding, these factors shouldn’t deviate the reality or encourage people to live within a lie. Unfortunately, our world might be full of severe incidents, nonetheless, people should face them and find reasonable solution instead of hiding behind cheerful news and optimism. Gradually, instead of getting bored of war news, our society will be able to analyze and co-operate with the government to resolve the problems which cause the bad news.