News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

Broadcasting news reports on the air or on papers by the concerned news editing personnel’s are highly influenced by the various factors, taken into consideration while making a decision to publish a sort of information. Firstly, this essay will discuss, how the governing bodies and rule and regulation of information technology affect it and secondly, the wrong impression of bad news and the positive impacts of good news on society will be examined.

To begin with, mass communication in any nation today is widely dominated by the ruling establishments, thus restricting them to work in a free atmosphere. Briefly explaining, the governing agencies have a close eye on the news media as they are enjoying the power to persuade the public to accept or deny anything they aim for. For example, in North Korea, there is a complete restriction on the publication of news on newspapers or TV, and anything that has to be reported should be in alliance with the interests of the Government. Furthermore, there are a set of rules that have to be followed by all of the broadcasting services in order to regulate the news that paws a way for the unity and prosperity of a nation.

Moreover, nowadays fabricated news is broadcasted all over the world in such a way that never was witnessed before and it has turned most of the nations into tribes fighting between themselves. To summarize, media is the means of spreading instruction across the globe and if used adversely, it sometimes leads to wars between countries or communal violence within a society. For instance, due to the hateful news reporting of media last year, there arose an armed conflict between the two nuclear powers, India and Pakistan, and if not intervened by international agencies on time, it could have turned into a disaster for humanity. However, if these news channels are determined to make any changes in society, it is the best platform for reform, such as spreading the awareness of global warming, health consciousness and so on.

To conclude, anything to be published in print media or TV channels is affected by numerous factors including, the ruling establishment and rules and regulations for the report broadcasting department. As mentioned earlier, mass media has a powerful impact on the public and if used in the wrong way can lead to fatal wars, in contrast to that, reforming a nation is most possible by using optimist reports.