News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Recently, the phenomenon of news editing and its corresponding impacts have sparked a long-running dispute. In this regard, whereas journalists are striving to be neutral in terms of various news, it is likely that enormous factors exert influence on what to broadcast on TV and newspapers. In my mind, such elements as editors’ psychological mood as well as monarchs and governors’ favor could affect on editors’ decisions.

Obviously, such matters as thoughts, beliefs, and family backgrounds are hard-wired on human’s brain. Consequently, editors’ mind-set paves the way to what news must be broadcasted on TV or have to be printed in newspapers. Psychologically speaking, editors’ mood would lead to influences on their decisions. For instance, if they experience bad moments in their everyday life, they would tent to disseminate unhappy news and vice versa.

In addition, we shouldn’t lose sight of such external factors as governments’ favor or societies’ circumstances on editors’ decision-making process. Miscellaneous nations, around the four corners of the globe, don’t have democratic leaders, or even cruel monarchs govern in such countries. Hence, editors as well as journalists should, or perhaps must, obey monarchs’ orders to do with what types of news must be covered regardless of moral responsibilities and being impartial. Otherwise, severe actions would be taken against them, like to be executed or jail to death.

On the other hand, in today’s frantic societies, there are far more than enough bad news ranging from terroristic attacks, suicides, drought, pandemic diseases, civil wars, and so forth. Ergo, it is far better to report more good news instead of bad ones. This approach provides societies with not only a bit happier atmosphere, but also alleviation of people’s pain should be taken into account.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments about neutrality of journalists and editors, I am inclined to believe that attempts to dissemination of happy news are of higher priorities. Happy populace come up with far more peaceful community and leads tranquility.