News media are important in modern society. Why are they so important? Are their influences generally positive or negative?
The news media mainly plays two important roles in modern societyúproviding
information and influencing public opinionúand I think its influence is generally
positive.
Obviously, the news media provides people with vast amounts of information in various
forms. We can access it by listening to the radio, reading newspapers and magazines,
watching television and by surfing the Internet. The ability to access news media is
important for individuals and organizations because we make many decisions based on
the news provided to us. Some of these decisions are mundane. We check the weather
forecast to see whether we should take an umbrella to work. Other news, such as that
about the business world, could influence whether we invest our savings in certain
companies listed on the stock exchange.
The news is often presented to us in certain ways, using speci¿c words to try to control
our feelings and thoughts. This can be the main negative inÀuence of the news media.
Very often, the news media portrays people in simplistic ways, giving us some facts,
but not the whole story. In the USA, some news media tends to support the Republicans
whilst others tend towards the Democrats and the portrayal of individuals can reÀect
this. This is somewhat inevitable, because the editors, journalists and owners of the
news media have opinions and biases. So, I think that it would be better if people
checked news stories from different sources instead of only using one source.
Despite the fact that the news media can report events incorrectly or with bias, I think
that the general influence on society is good. More factual information gives us the
chance to make better decisions, both in our personal lives and in our working lives.