News media are important in modern society. Why are they important?Are their influences generally positive or negative?

These days, it is clear that news media play an important role in our community because they provide daily information for people. Some opponents may think that news media sometimes bring people inaccurate information and panic the society but in my opinion, the benefits that news media bring outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are many reasons to explain the importance of news media. They are crucial in conveying global information for people around the world. One without getting exposure to news cannot be in contact with new daily information and may become out-dated when talking with other people who listen and read the news on the radio and in the newspaper. With the help of news, one can know the current situation of the world so he can be aware of the bad things that may occur in his life. For example, in the period of Covid-19, one who often reads or listens to news may have many solutions to prevent that disease through the news' instruction while one who lacks information may deal with the disease without perceiving nothing.

On the other hand, besides bringing about positive effects, news networks also have many downsides. Firstly, there are some producers who may exaggerate normal news to draw attention from the society. As a consequence, the community can be panicked and nervous. For example, one has light stomach ache when eating a kind of fruit but the news producers can make the problem more exacerbate that may make some people avoid eating that fruit. Moreover, some news people read everyday can be inaccurate. For example, some journalists themselves write untrustful news about stars' daily lives to gain popularity without having the actual exploration about the news.

In conclusion, although there are many downsides of news networks, I believe their benefits may outweigh their drawbacks as they bring humans new information and experience.