In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this case happening? How should children or teenagers be punished?

It is true that there is an increasing number of underage criminals in some parts of the world. This trend can stem from some reasons, and I firmly believe that adolescents should receive an equivalent punishment if they repeatedly commit crimes or carry out heinous crimes.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why more kids have a tendency to break the law at an early age. The bottom line is the lack of parental guidance and moral education from teachers. Nowadays, parents are inclined to be too lenient with their offspring’s unacceptable behaviours. Meanwhile, teachers only focus on their students’ scholastic performance and neglect delivering ethical lessons. Therefore, this shortcoming in education can give rise to their kids’ unexpected offences. Moreover, the wall-to-wall media coverage of extreme criminal behaviours that children approach can also contribute to this trend. While children are easily susceptible to anything they deem to be mysterious to them, the sensational news about heinous crimes can incite them to emulate the ex-perpetrators to satisfy their curiosity.

On the other hand, I would argue that children and teenagers only should receive an appropriate punishment if they commit vicious crime or for the second time. It is obvious that some first-time underage criminals have no understanding of the consequences of their misbehaviour. Therefore, giving them softer punishment could be enough to prevent them from doing further harm to society. However, if these juvenile delinquents keep crossing the bottom line of the legal system, there is little reason to protect them from harsh punishment. So no matter how young they are, breaking the law seriously for the second time, like drug trafficking, deserves a harsh penalty.

In conclusion, insufficient education and adverse effects of media contribute to this trend; and I hold a conviction that adolescents should incur equivalent punishment depending on each situation.