Now children do not behavior as well as the children did in the past. Which one of the following measure do you think can help children (age 5~10) behave better?

A. Control the time they spend on TV or movie.

B. Take more time to chat with children.

C. Monitor the interaction between children and their peers.

Being a parent, requires a great amount of attention, patience and energy for teaching the children to behave appropriately. The greatest responsibility lies on parents in training process of their children for a more healthy and appropriate behavior. Previously children tend to behave better than they do nowadays. There are a great number of strategies for development of children’s behavior. Exercising control over the duration of time children spend in front of TV, allocating more time to communicate and chat with them and to observe and monitor the interaction of children with their peers are amongst the most effective strategies for improvement of children’s behavior. From my point of view allocating more time to be spent with children seems more fruitful due to two reasons which I will discuss below.

One of the advantages of spending more time with children and chatting with them is that parents will be able to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere at home. The more friendly and tight-knit the atmosphere of home becomes, children will tend to stay at home more. This increases the time children spend at home and with their parents therefore, parents can easily observe and control the behavior of their own children and children are less prone to be influenced by outside factors such as friends or other strangers. For instance a male child who spends most of his time with his parents specially with father chatting, watching football and playing games will spend less time outside the house with friends. In addition the child will be encouraged and be directed towards more healthy activities by parents such as reading books, magazines and newspapers instead of wasting time on harmful video games.

The other benefit of spending more time and chatting with children is about the growing intimacy between parent and child. Increasing the intimacy in child-parent relationship enables the child to be more comfortable and confident to discuss his/her problems, fears and needs with parents. Nowadays that the child-parent relationships is more shattered and each suffer from a lack of intimacy with each other, providing such comfort within parental relationship is very helpful. For better clarification, imagine a child who is able to easily communicate with his parents and he is facing problem in school and is bullied by other students. When he is able to discuss the problem with parents, they can take necessary steps for punishment of those students and come up with possible solutions to solve their child’s problem and protect him from possible damages and injuries.

Monitoring the interaction of children with their peers is another possible strategy which will be fruitful. However it demands more time for observing the interaction and sometimes it is impossible since children spend time with their peers in school, gym, play grounds and etc away from parents where they will not be able to observe them. Controlling the time children spend to watch TV and movies seems helpful but it will not be as effective as other strategies since children will break the rules and watch TV or movies stealthily or in absence of parents.

To summarize, I believe that training children to behave appropriately is one of the most difficult responsibilities of parents. Among great number of strategies to improve behavior of children, spending more time with them and chatting seems more effective which makes the atmosphere of home more friendly and increases the intimacy in parent-child relationship. Controlling the time spend for watching TV or movie and observing the interaction of children with their peers are possible fruitful solutions but they have their own shortcomings. These strategies help parents in training process of children that will make them to behave healthily and appropriately in future.