Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced twenty days with below-average temperatures, and local weather forecasters throughout the region predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

The argument that predicts an augmentation of oil demand and recommends investments in consolidated industries is well-presented yet far-fetched. The author fails to take into consideration that what holds for the past may not preserve its course for the future. Furthermore, a vague statement is made by the writer about the construction of new houses. Accordingly, the author's reasoning for such an idea is not potently established and the argument is rife with holes and fallacious assumptions.

To begin with, the author lays the claim based on the fallacious assumption that what held true formerly will hold faithful today. He erroneously believes that the oil will continue to be the primary source of heating in homes in the northeastern United States since traditionally it was widely utilized. Unfortunately, he fails to account for the altering course of things with the passage of time. Obviously, with the drastic growth of technology, new methods and equipment have been invented to supplant the archaic and obsolete ones which provide far-reaching options for people to pick and make use of. A possible alternative to oil-consuming heating equipment is the new electric-consuming heating system that promises a more efficient and economical option for the customers. Consequently, the consumption of oil for heating not only can be supplanted but totally eliminated by the introduction of new equipment that takes advantage of other sources for heating rather than oil. If the argument presented some clues about the unaltered inclination toward using oil as the major heating source, then the argument would have been a lot more convincing.

To add, the author asserts that the glacial weather pattern that occurred last year will preserve its course for several more years. He refers to a twenty-day frigid period with below-average temperatures. Yet, the evidence remains vague since he fails to address certain details any further such as how much the temperature was below the normal? The region's cold period might be just a few centigrades below the average temperatures that render it too trivial to account for a drastic increase in oil demand. The author should bolster his argument by noting that the weather was remarkably below the average, by using meteorology statistics in the past year, that necessitated augmentation in oil consumption for heating. Furthermore, a twenty-day frigid period is a relatively short time to bring about such a great alteration in oil demands. Additionally, there are still other factors such as the accuracy of climate prediction that can significantly weaken the argument. We cannot assure that weather forecasters' prognostication was authentic and reliable or they might have misinterpreted the data that predicts the future weather conditions. Some abrupt climatic changes may alter the temperature in a way that hardly induces the citizens to use more heat.

The last but not least, the author makes a vague reference to the construction of new houses in the region to account for the population growth and respectively amplification of demand for the oil. This is an instance of the fallacy of ungrounded assumption since the construction may have been due to the demands of denizens to replace the age-old houses with modern and brand-new ones. Accordingly, in light of the lack of specific detail regarding this, we conclude that the new houses do not necessarily entail new citizens. The claim should be fortified by additional details about the growth of the population in the region, according to surveys and statistics, who are settled in the new homes. In addition, the newly-constructed buildings may include thermal-insular materials that preclude the exhaust of heat significantly. Consequently, they will reduce the thermal-waste and respectively requirements for additional oil.

To recapitulate, the author's argument is based on logically flawed assumptions according to the above-mentioned reasons. The author should closely examine all other factors and assumptions before making claims. Additional information is needed to bolster the claim that the region will experience an increased demand for heating oil in the future.