Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicines and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animals to suffer, while others are in favor of them because of their benefits to humanity.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the contemporary world, animal testing has been using widely to help advance medical research and examine the safety of many products. This frequently generates a heated debate with supporters remaining that it is vital to humanity, whilst opponents claim that we should ban such things because we have no moral right to justify the pain animals have to go through. In my personal opinion, I believe that animal experiments should be limited and use for medical research only. This essay will first demonstrate that enhancing medical knowledge as the merit, followed by how the primary liability, namely the suffering caused, is valid and thus, animal testing should be limited.

There is an argument of justification, which demonstrates the statement to wit; animal testing is supported because it plays an essential role in advancing medical research. The rationale behind this is that many medical discoveries involved experimental on animals. According to the PEW Center, 76% of animal functions are comparable with human and therefore, experts could limit unwanted outcomes or test the effect of certain kinds of medicines.

Nonetheless, it is imperative to reminisce that there are companies that routinely used animal experiments to test the safety of their products and people do not agree that this act is necessary. This borne by the fact that they could use alternative methods of research because some of them are cosmetic or food companies. The Times recently reported that testing for the cosmetic industry is now banned in many countries.

From my point of view, I believe that animal testing should only use for important medical research. A logical justification for this is I do not see that testing the safety of non-medical products on animals justifies suffering caused. However, if they are used for medical purposes, it worth the pain as the moments they have been suffered could in return, save millions of people.

Subsequently, weighing all the aforementioned, this can be safely stated that we should only allow authorities to use animals for medical research after considering tangible benefits this could bring for humanity and that other industries can use alternative ways to examine the safety of their products.