Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that these days, plenty of stars gain a reputation for showing off their luxurious and affluent lifestyles than for obtaining their remarkable accomplishments, which may have negative impacts on the young generation. I completely agree with this point of view.

The main reason why people especially youngsters pay more attention to celebrities' glamour and wealth is that many people would make a judgment about a person through the amount of money that person possesses. They do not care what he or she did, they believe that the only one that defines a person's efforts is money. For example, a normal worker just needs to post many pictures of eating dinner at 5-star restaurants, traveling around the world luxuriously, later she would receive many compliments and an increasing number of followers on Facebook.

Apart from the practical problem expressed above, I believe that this tendency would affect adversely the youth's thoughts. After seeing many pictures, reading news about the rich life of famous people, many students may misunderstand the value of life. They might do anything to have a lucrative income to show off to others, to have the same luxurious items to their idols. As a result, many students can drop out of school to get a job or distract from their studies which leads to poor academic performance at school.

In conclusion, it seems to me that being rather famous for wealth than real achievements would have a serious influence on teenagers' ways of thinking.