Nowadays celebrities are more famous for their glamour and wealth than for their achievements, and this sets a bad example to young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, when we think of some public figures, only their glamorous lifestyles come into our mind first. While these famous people can set a bad example for children, I would argue that celebrities who act as positive role models also exist.

On one side of the argument, many celebrities whose fame and glamour are not rewarded in return for their concerted effort can be found plenty today. A person can become wealthy and successful for a number of reasons, marrying a rich partner, being inherited from his parents, or having attractive natural beauty, all of which do not involve career commitment. For instance, supermodels can be a bad example for children, who are trending for showing off their unrealistic beauty and partying. These kinds of celebrities can influence young people to have the idea that possessing a media profile and appearance are more straightforward than concentrating on school work in order to succeed.

On the other hand, there are also celebrities who are well-known solely for their professional milestones. All musicians, athletes, and actors achieve career achievements through practice and personal dedication. It inspires youngsters that an individual who works hard consistently will surely reach his goals at some point. For example, Jackie Chan, both an actor and martial artist, and Cristiano Ronaldo, a soccer player are taken as role models who start their lives from scratch to the stage where they are now.

In conclusion, I would admit that some celebrities are well-known for their luxurious lifestyles. However, most of them demonstrate that perseverance and ambition play a bigger role in a successful and wealthy life.