Nowadays computers are widely used in education. As a result, some people think teachers no longer play important roles in classrooms. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In the burgeoning of techs, computers surely have a far-reaching impact and are applied comprehensively in every field, especially in education. In light of the increasing presence and importance of computers in the classroom, people can’t help wondering whether teachers are as important as they once were. Personally, the role of the teacher is still essential and couldn’t be replaced for many reasons.

Over a couple of decades ago, even though computers have been playing a necessary position for information sharing and shortage, it is nothing more than human contrivance, programmed to perform certain tasks. With regard to culture, we can search everything related to the culture of all countries around the world on computers, but it is unable to deal precisely with students from different backgrounds. In addition, it’s good for students to access the information but it can’t help students to set up their own paths for learning. Moreover, students could be distracted and dangerous by uncontrol depraved cultural products on the internet if they were not under teachers’ monitoring.

Clearly, the interaction between students and teachers is immensely vital for learning. It would be more effective if students can learn the new knowledge with the enthusiastic teacher’s guidance and can discuss it with their classmates. For instance, students can ask directly the teachers if they don’t grasp something or be able to debate with another to protect their position that could help to develop students’ critical thinking. This task is surely beyond the power of the computer. Another key point to mention is the trained teachers who know the suitable methods to change students’ attitudes and behavior whenever they show signs of frustration or impatience.

To recap, despite the increasing presence of computers inside classrooms, teachers are just as essential. As noted above, some inherent drawbacks make it impossible for computers to replace teachers in classrooms.