Many people believe the government should spend money on faster public transport. Others think that money should be spent on different aspects of public transportation, such as cost reduction and environment conservation. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, people hold differing views about which of two steps the local authorities should do: investing money to rise the speed of mass transit system or pouring financial support to others aspects of public transportation such as environment protection or cut down on public transport prices, to have a better public vehicles system in the future. From my own perspective, I firmly hold the view that public spending should be expended on both approaches because they are of equal significance.

On one hand, I understand why the state should offer financial packages for increasing the speed of public modes of travel in order to encourage citizens to use public transportation more frequently. As a matter of fact, bus is the most popular public mean of transport in the world; nevertheless, a factor that deters passengers from travelling by the mass transit system is that they move slowly in comparison with other vehicles. Additionally, they are prone to be caught on traffic congestions, particularly in cities, due to their large size. As a result, bus passengers might run a risk of showing up late at school or at work. However, were the government to allocate their fundings more on BRT system, Bus Rapid Transit, the move between bus stops could be faster thanks to the private routes only for that type of bus. Hence, more individuals would rely more on public means of transport.

On the other hand, I believe that the policy makers should make supplementary allocation to other aspects of public transport, chief of which is making the mass transit system be environmentally-friendly. In fact, most environmentalists are well aware of the importance of environment reservation and they are conscious that traditional buses run on fossil fuel, which releases a noticeable amount of toxic fumes to the atmosphere, and contributes significantly to the air pollution. Consequently, people may opt for greener vehicles such as riding their bicycles or walking on foot, yet those means of travel are either time-consuming or inconvenient. If the government subsidizes their investment on improving the availability of electric buses and coaches, much less harmful emissions can be produced, so the number of bus and coach passengers may soar sharply.

In conclusion, various aspects of the mass transit system, including its speed and environmental sustainability, are requiring extra funding from the authorities because both of them play indispensable roles in improving the popularity of public transport among people.