Nowadays, an increasing number of people buy what they need online.

What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies of shopping online?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the years mankind has recognized the need for daily supplies as groceries, household needs, clothes and other stuff. Nowadays process of buying goods became easier through Internet where people might order almost everything online. This essay will discuss the pros and cons for phenomenon of online shopping supported by relevant examples.

Two main advantages of this phenomenon are buyer’s convenience and endless choice of items in Internet. Ordering anything online allows customer to save a lot of time which they waste in traffic jam on the way to the shop. For example, when I furnished my apartment, a lot of furniture arrived to me from Ikea web site. Moreover, if person is looking for something special which is not available in regular stores, Internet is good solution. For instance, Red Autumn, one of my favorite Russian Youtube bloggers, often orders rare cosmetic from the USA through delivery services. Hence, the comfort and multiplied options of goods provided by online shopping should be taken into account.

As for the disadvantages, difficulty of buying without physical presence and risk of overspending should be mentioned. Unfortunately, some kinds of stuff are hard to choose without trying or touching, like jeans or bed linen. For instance, my friend ordered variety of swimsuits for her sea holiday, and she was upset due to the reason none of them fit her well. Another problem is illusion of endless cash in your bank account buying things remotely. For example, according to statistics big percent of Russian population borrowing debt money from banks to cover impulse purchases. Thus, anyone who prefer to shopping spree must be aware of complexity of distance choosing and danger of money waste.

To conclude, am convinced that online shopping is phenomenon which consists of positive and negative sides. Whereas the former provide convenient environment and rank of good’s choices for buyer, the latter might incline the person to spend more than expected and create obstacles to choose right item.