Nowadays, a lot of companies switch to open offices. Do the advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that in recent days, the open-plan offices are replaced by the partially enclosed office workspaces. Personally, I would contend that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks.

There are innumerable reasons why people might disapprove of changing to the open workplace.The first objection is that working in the barrierless office design easily makes people lose focus. It starts from the phone ringing, colleague conversation, co-workers congregating or even the sound of a keyboard. When combined, it will create an extremely annoying sound for everyone around, which would in turn reduce their work efficiency. Another justification is that wall-less workspaces are an ideal environment for the transmission of illnesses. For example, although Covid-19 is still complicated, most people also have to go to work. Therefore, should a workplace don’t have a partition to limit people's direct contact with each other, Covid pandemic will spread faster and faster and endanger staff.

Inspite of the downsides mentioned above, I believe that open-plan offices with no partitions on the desk is a positive measure for the companies. First and foremost, a shared office space can facilitate communication and collaboration. An open workplace allows employees to communicate with each other whenever they want, thereby creating a friendly communal work environment. This would therefore build camaraderie between colleagues and from that, they can easily share, discuss and find a common opinion. It should also be noted that tearing down cubicle walls can slash some costs. Although the cost of installing partitions isn’t a big sum for big business, it is a big amount of money for medium or small organizations because this money can do a lot of other activities to develop the enterprise. Moreover, the entity can save cost on amenities and requisites such as printers, documents cabinets, and so on.

In sum, it seems to me that a workplace with no defined boundaries such as walls or barriers is advantageous in a variety of ways.