Nowadays in many countries, people are following the latest fashion, hairstyles and so on. Why are they so influenced by fashion? Is it a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays globalisation plays a vital part on the international arena as it sets a great number of trends such as fashion and appearance. Due to this people are easily affected by this tendency as they always strive to look better and more prestigious than others and also follow their idols. To my mind, this tendency negatively influences men and women as leads to the disappearance of the individuality.

As for the first reason, people have always been creatures who wants to realize that their look attracts someone’s attention and people around envy. Fashionable look also improves one’s confidence and helps to be become popular among friends and fellows. For instance, according to the statistic in Russia, around 50% of people under 25 follow the latest trends as consider modern fashion, cosmetics and hairstyle as a sign of prestigiousness. Thus, the stylish appearance is an integral part of the attitude and individual’s position in the inner circle.

As for the second cause, people have always been influenced by the stars in almost all the spheres of everyday life. Politicians, models, actors and pop singers, they all pay tremendous sums of money to the most fashionable designers to look trendy. For instance, Selena Gomes spends more than 500.000 dollars every year to the woman who sews clothes for her. Therefore, in pursuit of celebrities, fans without any reason seek to purchase and dress the same clothes.

However, the above-mentioned reasons are not strong enough to ensue fashion, as men and women forget about the individuality and often wear clothes that does not suit them. Moreover, latest fashion trends requires a fortune of money that rapidly reduces the budget. For instance, the Olga Buzzova’s admirer improved his appearance via plastic operation to look like the singer. So surreal love to idols displaces the realistic attitude to the world.

To conclude, because of the excessive attention to fashion that expresses in the will to occupy a high position and closer to celebrities people behave irrationally and lose personality.