Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty and give your opinion

Application of law in terms of social justice and retribution has been a debatable issue in all the societies. Certain individuals suppose that death penalty is advisable for brutal criminals, whereas others think such a measure is obsolete in the modern world. Although capital punishment may be considered a crucial instrument of retaliation in some cases, I believe that judicial branch defies perfection, which likely leads to error of judgment.

On the one hand, some cruel crimes like mass murder and molestation ought to be taken seriously by the government; and deprivation of a life of a those who commit them seems logical and fair. This means that offenders, who otherwise would be sent to serve their term in prison until the end of their days, appear not to suffer as they should. Furthermore, applying death penalty would be just not only for families of the victims but also for the society at a whole. This is because, capital punishment plays a preventive role in social relationships. For example, one of the most notorious serial killers of today Charles Manson, gained his fame by brutally killing innocent victims; being sentenced to prison he showed other mentally ill human beings who tried to mimic his behaviour that the law was not strict enough in terms of severity of the level of a crime.

On the other hand, even though some of the felony ought to be intuitively punished by death, the vital role in ascertaining whether a person is considered guilty or not plays the judicial system which in many cases lacks objectivity and has easy to be fooled. In other words, huge percentage of errors do occur when the guilt of a certain person is determined.

Therefore, innocent members of society can lose their lives for the actions of others, true murderers. For instance, in the Soviet Union times of maniac Chikatilo two people were executed by mistake while the real killer was committing his atrocious deeds. Proceeding from this, no modern society is able to be error-free in terms of implementing capital punishment.

In conclusion, although a large number of offences require severe approach, I reckon that execution of a human being ought to be out of a realm of punitive branches of legislation. This is due to the fact that no country has a flawless system of justice.