Nowadays, many people can not read or write. What problems does this cause? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

It is true that even today, illiteracy is widespread. Several problems have resulted from this tendency and they should be tackled by a number of effective solutions from the the governments.

As people can neither read nor write, several related issues can be anticipated, the most obvious of which is that they would have considerable difficulties in handling with tons of paperwork. Therefore, dealing with bureaucracy is a nightmare for those who are illiterate. From the perspective of society in general, illiterate people might find it hard to integrate themselves into society, and they are likely to be backward. Another problem is that being illiterates deprives themselves of every opportunities to get a better-paid job, and this could probably deteriorate their quality of life.

Since such issues are serious, the government should take steps immediately to address these problem. Firstly, resources should be allocated to provide basic literacy classes in local colleges or social and community centers to help people to learn to read and write. Secondly, local authorities would employ staff who have specific responsibility for helping illiterate people to cope with the confusing mass of official paperwork. Finally, governments even in developing countries must ensure that everyone has the right to basic education which enables them to read and write.

In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of illiteracy and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems.