Nowadays, many people cannot read or write. Why is this? What measures can governments take to solve these problems?

In this age, a section of the world population is suffering illiteracy. There are several culprits for this phenomenon and steps should be taken immediately by governments to resolve this pressing issue.

For one thing, illiteracy could be characterized by a number of factors, chief of which stem from the lack of financial capacity of the impoverished to afford formal education. The stark reality in many developing countries is that economic growth often accompany surging living costs. In this sense, individuals who come from family in with low socio-economic status generally struggle to cover their fundamental requirements, which has already overtaken the money spent on education. One of the hypothetical example could be Viet Nam, this developing country still have to face illiteracy when an overwhelming majority population of ethnic groups are suffering poverty in the absence of financial aid from the state. Additionally, this group commonly makes their own poor living based on agriculture activities, which generate merely no incomes to support their studies. Consequently, financial predicaments perpetuate illiteracy over generations, which is deemed a hindrance to national progress.

For another, some measures should be adopted by the official administrations to alleviate the situation. Firstly, formal education in public school should be offered free to individuals from poor financial backgrounds. Focusing on the disadvantaged not only allows state to get to the root of the problem but also promote social equality since children are admitted to educational institution without concerning the discrimination in terms of finance. Furthermore, once illiteracy is curbed, governments could allocate resources on improving teaching quality by providing specialized courses for tutors. Instructions should be delivered in a way that students could easily interpret, even to those who have unprecedentedly received any form of teaching program.

To conclude, there are reasons for the emergence of illiteracy. Nonetheless, the suggested initiatives could combat this issue, given the financial and human resources are appropriately utilized.