Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games.

What are the negative impacts of children playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

People use computers more extensively these days than ever before, and it is so widespread in our modern world that even children have access to these devices for playing games or watching videos. This essay discusses the disadvantages of playing digital games on computer devices by youngsters and suggests some measures to reduce such negative effects.

Concerning the adverse impacts of young children playing video games, the most devastating one is the addiction these games create. Millions of dollar are spent to make computer games so that they attract a large number of audience and keep them glued to the computer screens. So they are addictive by design and this obsession hampers children's outdoor activities, studies and even time to socialise and learn important life skills. Many research works suggest that children who spend many hours playing computer games end up performing poorly in schools and avoid social events and outdoor activities. This results in physical and psychological issues including poor eyesight and despair. Moreover, violent games cloud the youngsters' judgement and make their rational thinking unstable. Oftentimes, youngsters who play violent games develop violent behaviours.

To minimise the severity of these negative impacts, parents must monitor what their children are doing, especially on computers. They should not be allowed to play computer games more than a couple of hours each week and parents can actively take part in those games with their children so that it becomes family time. Children's outdoor activities should be taken seriously and parents should take them out whenever possible. Finally, parents can use parental control on the digital contents and games their children watch or play. This would deter children from downloading and playing games that are not suitable for their age.

To conclude, computer games, when played excessively by children, have many detrimental effects. Proper parenting and monitoring seem like the best solution to solve these problems.