Nowadays more people are choosing to live with friends or alone rather than with their families. This trend is likely to have a negative impact on communities.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Decisions in life are imperative for future goals. In this light, some individuals tend to move away from their family members, choosing to be accompanied by their peers or just be themselves, thereby negatively affecting the society in their hometown. In the writer's view, although it could be true in some ways, there are more plausible reasons to partially disagree.

Apparently, the rise in the population of people leaving their place of birth is unstoppable. One reason for this is the occurence of brain-drain, whereby professionals are deciding to look for a greener pasture in other regions or continents. Unfortunately, their place of origin suffers because of lack of skilled and knowledgeable individuals to propel the progress in their society. To exemplify, Philippines has a lot of skilled and professional workers, such as nurses, engineers and heavy equipment operators that seek better oppurtunity overseas, thereby shortages in these professions lead to poor services to the citizenry. Another factor is education. Younger generations tend to strengthen their foundations in learning in some well-known schools, hence moving away from their family is necessary for them to ensure a brighter future by finishing a degree. Sadly, small colleges in urban places are neclected, hence eventually closure of these schools is inevitable. As these schools declares bankcruptcy, employees lost their job causing a dilemma for their family, and at the same time for those students who cannot afford out of town unibersity study. Therefore, it is quite acceptable that to live away and leave the community behind could lead to dire consequences.

However, given the above statements, there are stronger views to fully support the positivity of being away with family. An individual leaving its comfort zone will initially encounter some difficulties, such as emotional and financial support. But as time pass by, gradually the ability to adapt and overcome these situations is beneficial to hone an individual's perspective to persevere in its endeavors. In the long run, by having a better quality of living, a person can now return the favor to his family and community by sending back its self-earned money. As an exemplification, again in the Philippines, overseas Filipino workers are the ones who greatly contribute to the progress of their economy by the influx of foreign currency entering the country. Furthermore, after being away with the community, some decide to go back to their hometowns to serve their family and community, by sharing ideas and skills, and at the same time to be employed in that place. Also, government tries to intervene by shouldering tuitions in the form of scholarship grants of some dedicated students to attend in prestigious academy, but in return graduates need to render their service back to the community. Nonetheless, it is undoubtedly beneficial for people to be separated in their place of origin due to these reasons.

To sum up, even though there could be personal and social drawbacks of leaving away from family. Practically, people nowadays have no choice but to adapt in any situations to broaden their knowledge and way of life, which in the long run it will positively affect their families and the society.