Nowadays, not enough students choose science subjects in university in many countries. What are the reasons for this problem? What are the effects on the society?

The fact that a large number of countries no longer have their natural subject popular among students concerns a lot of people. Even though the cause of this phenomenon is clear, no one is quite sure about how it might affect the society.

Science used to be a hot topic for a long period of time and people who follow

such areas are highly respected in their community. However, even though their prestige is still conserved, their fame is not. Young people these days have more attention to people in the entertainment industry than people in the research industry. This leads to a trend that more people are wanted to become singers or actors than become scientists. Moreover, people in these industries do not get as highly paid as other industries and since we are living in a world where the higher you get paid, the more respect you earn. You can only pursue the subject if you have a good background, which includes having a well-off life even without a monthly salary, or have a huge passion for such a thing. Otherwise, it is harder than ever.

So how do this phenomena affect the public? Because fewer people are in the laboratory, there are less likely than any groundbreaking findings will be seen as frequently as how it used to be. And because of that, it is going to take humanity more time to evolve scientifically. On the other hand, the slowing down in progressing on this side of the civilization could be a sign of stronger growth on the other side. It is clear that many other subjects are getting more popular, such as economics or computer science. These subject helps to develop the economic and technological side of the world, and as to how humankind has seen it, the world still has a quite steady development. In addition, the growth of these subjects nurtured the stability of science subjects, as the richer a country gets, the more money can be donated to scientific research, which means less analyst have to suffer to pay their bills, and the more advanced computers get, the fewer time examiners have to analyze their statistic.

All in all, the reason for scientific subjects lose their popularity is due to the growth of other subjects. Although there are negative effects on the public, it does not hurt much.