Nowadays parents give more freedom to their children than in the past. Is it a positive or negative development?

Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

Today more freedom is given to children by their parents than what it was used in the past. This essay will discuss whether I believe this to be a positive or negative development and give reasons behind my point of view.

Overall, when children are given space and the chance to make the choices for themselves, the door to an infinite number of experiences is opened. Although it may sound like the parents are spoiling them, it can help them to feel and to be more autonomous. It has been proven that children who are more listened and who had the choice to make informed decisions about their life are more prone to grow up as satisfied adults. Boundaries and limitations are fundamental while growing up, but a dose of creativity and self-esteem does not harm even on the younger children.

On the other hand, having too much freedom can have many drawbacks, including turning into impolite adults. For example, rich kids who grew up doing everything they wanted, without being educated or taught good manners are often not able to be a productive part of society. I believe that children should always be supervised and guided when making their choices, or they will grow into lost adults who always choose to do whatever they wanted to, but without the ability to distinguish right from wrong.

To conclude, to give freedom to children is essential to help them express themselves, but being young and inexperienced they need to be silently guided. Otherwise, parents who do not guide their children in making their choices can do more harm than those who over discipline them.