Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. what is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In modern's world, youngsters withstand considerable parental pressures when it comes to being successful. This phenomenon results from several factors and leads to unhealthy development later in these individuals' life.

To begin with, parents' high expectations, especially in term of academic outcomes is the most outstanding cause of pressure. In many parts of Asia, excellent performances at school are highly appreciated by society. For example, parents normally perceive their children's academic success as a pride or an honor brought to the family. As a result, they put lots of financial resources into their children's schooling and repeatedly remind them to keep studying harder. This accidentally pressured youngsters due to the sense of responsibility and fear of indebtedness to significant others' support and sacrifice.

Furthermore, some parents misinterpret the meaning of success as being superior to others; for example, winning in a competition or ranking first in the class. Consequently, their offsprings make repeated attempts to fulfilling their parents' wish. Worsely, many of them have deep-seated perception that performing to the best of their ability is not adequate but surpassing others. Gradually, these individuals become obsessed with the pressure of going beyond their peers.

This problem exerts considerable adverse effects on children's devlopment. Some of them suffer the fear of being unsuccessful to the extent that failure can reduce their self-esteem and confidence, compel them to doubt their attainments, and endure the feelings of inferiority. Even more seriously, some teenagers resort to self-harm activities such as committing suicide to cope with parental disappointment.

In conclusion, parents should be more appreciative of children's achievements no matter how they are. Also, instead of having unrealistic expectation about the young and imposing some external standards on youngsters, parents had better constantly offer mental incentives and consolations whether their offsprings do well or not.