NOWADAYS PARENTS PUT TOO MUCH PRESSURE ON THEIR CHILDREN TO SUCCEED. WHAT IS THE REASON FOR DOING THIS? IS THIS A NEGATIVE OR POSITIVE DEVELOPMENT?

In today's modern world, parents are inclined to push their children hard to be successful. In my judgement, this is a pessimistic development on grounds of various reasons.

Admittedly, there are multiple purposes why parents impose on their offspring an immense amount of pressure. There is no doubt that every parent expects their children to gain a lucrative job. This can be explained by the fact that in the hypercompetitive jobs markets, companies seem to adjust their standards higher. Therefore, for being recruited for a well-paid career, they must be adept at multiple fields. As a result, parents tend to put a strain on their offspring to give them more opportunities to gain a better vocational career. For example, some children have to attend numerous extra classes at a young age in order to win a seat at top universities. Besides, people claim traditional stereotypes that students who get bad marks at school are failures irrespective of their other talents. For rational reasons, parents put unnecessary pressure on their children.

Controversially, I believe that it should be a negative development so parents should avoid treating their children in this way. This can render children an inhibited cognition. To be more accurate, children who are under pressure for the long-term can gain certain mental diseases such as depression. Therefore, they are not intriguing in academic learning leading to exacerbated problems. For example, they will be nonchalant to attend lessons in school, instead they can be influenced by friends to be involved in criminal activities.

To sum up, there are various core grounds of why parents place a heavy emphasis on children’s success through putting a strain on them. However, this is a negative development owing to rational theses.