Nowadays people live longer after they retire. How does this affect individuals and society? What can be done about this?

In the contemporary era, the extraordinary research and development in pharmaceutical sector successfully able to tackle most of the chronicle and fatal diseases which earlier considered to be taboo in the society. Retired people now a days have advantages to live longer because of distinct medications. This longevity affects myriads of individuals and society. In the following paragraphs, I would address the tendency’s causes and its impacts.

Firstly, long life of people in the nation after retirement reflects the impeccable and effective healthcare system. Also, nation’s healthcare system substantiates its reputation and credibility which attracts many overseas patients in the country, adding revenue to the economy which further credit into the government’s revenue. Secondly, people in the country gets more time to spend with their loved ones to create more memories by taking care in the time when required most.

On the contrary, longer durations of life also put extra weight to the government budget and proliferates their expenses on government aided policies for older people. Moreover, retirement homes become indispensable for those older people who do not have any supportive hands or family member to take care of them. Additionally, it is not an easy task for a normal person to bear the sky touching surgery treatments and medical bills, so they seek government help for the same in the way of pensions, free treatments and check-ups and many more.

In conclusion, long lived retire people are also valuable assets to the society because they have had contributed their time and efforts in the country’s growth and taking care of them in the later stage is the prime responsibility of every one of the society.