Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

In recent years, it is becoming common for individuals to purchase a high amount of food from shops and restaurants and put it in the garbage bin. The food waste is a major concern in Western countries, and there are many reasons for that explained below. By changing the people's belief on food waste and its effects, we could definitely eliminate the percentage of this behavior.

The two main factors of food loss throughout the consumption process are the lack of appropriate planning and the purchase of too much food. It is true that sometimes people buy food without any planning on when and how they will consume it. Coupled with the contemporary schedules of work and appointments, people, therefore, tend to change food preparation plans or fail to remember using it on time. Furthermore, in many cases, we order more food than we need. As a result, it is obvious that the excess food on the plate will go to waste.

Assuming that the phenomenon of food waste is the major source of the greenhouse gas methane, with tremendous effects on greenhouse effect, governments and companies should take radical measures to mitigate this phenomenon. Firstly, people's behavior can alter by concentrated media attention on the subject. For example, a British campaign called “Love Food, Hate Waste” has raised awareness about preventative measures to address food waste for consumers. Secondly, campaigns from advisory and environmental groups, whether with public donation or not, can inform people about the negative effects of food loss. They could also advise them about the most effective ways to plan more properly their food shopping.

In conclusion, the phenomenon of food waste has increased in recent times, mainly because of inappropriate food management when we buy or eat food. However, there are a lot of ways to get rid of it related to public's awareness on the issue.