Nowadays, some employers think that formal academic qualifications are more important than life experience or personal qualities when they look for new employees. Why is it the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

Looking for new employees in this era have to think that the formal academic qualification is more crucial than personal qualities or life experience. This is because formal academic qualification is regarded as a standard of recruitment, but this can have a negative side due to there is no guarantees about personal qualities.

Nowadays, there are many collaborations between the companies with university to do some projects about the vital topics. Therefore, the university will play be role to provide human resource to the company. It is a good idea in order to the company do not be difficult to find new employees. What is the consequence of this issue? This can have a positive impact in reducing the number of unemployed where we know that the number of unemployed are developing in this era especially in the developing countries like Indonesia, Malaysia, and Cambodia. Based on research held by scholars of Harvard University, in 2022 almost 80% graduation from university in the developing countries have worked in companies especially mining sector. This percentage have increased since 2020.

However, this issue has negative side about personal qualities of the workers. Most of graduation from the university did not have much experiences. They only know about theoretical, so most of companies tend to spend time and money to train new workers about basic of works. For example, in Morowali Mining Company, one of the biggest mining company in Indonesia has to spent their income around 20 billion rupiah to give training every year. And the company is only experiencing to increase about 5% of income in the past 5 years.

In conclusion, formal academic qualification as a standard for recruitment is a good requirement, but if it is possible the companies or recruiters should consider about life experiences or personal qualities as new employees.