Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

The past 20 years have seen a considerable increase in the use of technology. There remains question whether the impact of technology on people's relationships is negative or positive, I would argue that this is a positive trend.

The first thing to be considered is that people's means of communication has become more convenient and better than those of the earlier times. Take telephones and the Internet as particular examples, students studying abroad can keep in touch with their family with apps such as Messenger and FaceTime. While in the past it was struggling and time-consuming for people living in faraway places to support contact with their loved ones with forms of written letters and telegrams, these days people have more opportunities to interact with beloved ones thanks to the upsurge of the technology.

Equally important, technology benefits people in terms of business and education. Services like Skype and Facebook help business people have online meetings and make necessary conference without meeting face to face. Also, students can attend online courses according to their preferences with specialised teachers in different nations to broaden their horizon.

Though some people argue that technology causes disadvantages like isolating people and discouraging real life communication. I believe that technology helps create and keep up relationships among people regardless of their age and gender.

In conclusion, it is a positive tendency that technology has changed people's relationships in terms of communication.