Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology.

In what ways has tech affected the types of relationship people make?

Has this become a positive or negative development?

As society advances, almost everyone has a personal smartphone or computer. When it comes to meeting and chatting with friends, instead of sending letters or meeting in person, people now can just make a call immediately. Consequently, the way people interact with each other has undergone big changes.

In the past, people could only befriend who lived nearby. If the friend lived far away, they would soon lose touch. But now people can still keep in touch with friends who are not in their neighbourhood or even find long-lost friends by means of technology. What is more, along with the rapid development of technology comes a new type of relationship: online friends. These days, anyone can make hundreds of friends on various social websites. Whether those friends live nearby or even an ocean away, we are still connected and be able to share our stories with each other.

Whether this is a positive or negative development is an intriguing question. On the one hand, this allows people to stay in touch with their friends no matter how much time goes by. In addition, we can make friends with people from other regions or countries, thus encouraging the culture exchange among different places. By talking and sharing stories about our traditions, cuisine, ethics..., we can understand more about life beyond our neighbourhood and have a better view on the world. On the other hand, this also alienates the relationship of real-life friends. Since we can chat with them in the comfort of our rooms, we no longer hang out as much as we used to. Each person carrying a phone and having their eyes fixed on the phone during friends or family meetings is by no means an uncommon sight these days. How ironically it is to have many friends online but none in life. As far as I am concerned, this actually does more harm than good to relationships.

To sum up, the way people interact with one another today is nowhere similar to how we used to do due to technology. Although I believe this has a detrimental effect in general, I still hope that if we manage to balance between virtual relationships and real ones, we will get closer to each other than ever before.