Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

Museums have great historical, aesthetic and educational value, so it is suggested that people should go to museums more often. However, we have to pay in order to visit some museums, while others are completely for free. On the one hand, the number of people visiting museums are affected. Clearly, most people prefer free stuff, so they might hesitate to pay money to get into museum, thus museums that do not have fees to get in will have better turn out. But it is quite hasty to assert that having entrance fees is no good. This, on the other hand, have more benefits than drawbacks.

As mentioned, museums have considerable value, so it is reasonable to charge for admission. Museums need money to maintain the artifacts in pristine condition, so that they can better present what remain as well as better deliver historical or aesthetic value. Money is also used for opening exhibitions and provide salary for workers in museums. Therefore, money is essential to run the work and keep everything in control.

Another advantage of having entrance fees is that by paying money to get in, visitors and tourists will have a sense of responsibility and they will make good use of time inside the museums. They will bear in mind that they do not come here just to take a quick glance; this studying the artifacts, remains or pictures more carefully and trying not to break anything. As a result, the education and aesthetic purpose is better delivered.

In conclusion , charging for admission has both pros and cons, however, as an individual, I would like to take a more balanced position, which is entrance fee is a must. Also free-of-charge museums may attract more visitors, people should pay money to keep the museums working and enjoy their value better. Paying money to get in seems to have far more advantages than not.