Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is reported that some languages die out annually. It is undeniable that this means less language barriers and people can understand each other better when speaking the same languages, thus creat a greater bond. Therefore, some people claim that the disappearance of some languages is not important matter, and life will be much better. After a thorough consideration, for my part, I strongly disagree with the mentioned statement.

First and foremost, language is a crucial part of culture. It is language which make one culture unique and not like others. Take poetry as an example. The number of words and lines limited in haiku is very different from those of Tang poems. Likewise, the way language is used in literature and music lyrics is varied from one to another, making them characteristic, new and cannot be mistaken with any other languages. Therefore, it is safe to say loss in language equals loss in culture, as remarkable traits are hardly presented without language.

Another reason I dispute the above statement is that languages shape the way we think. For example, in English, the reflexive pronouns are only "I" and "you", but in Vietnamese, there are dozens more and many rules to bear in mind when addressing younger or older people. Or in Russian, there are different words to express different shades of blue. The same case is applied to any other languages. If a language die out, speakers of that language's patterns of thought and speech will certain change, which eventually leads to different lifestyles. Changing how they themselves live for ages is obviously not easy to them.

All mentioned evidence points to one thing, which is languages dying out is indeed an issue to be taken into accounts. More than ignoring it, we should work out solutions to preserve languages as this is a crucial step to preserve and maintain culture.