Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Countries in the world are becoming more interdependent. We exchange our goods with other countries and vice versa. As a result, same goods are purchased everywhere. Many people consider this as a positive development; others, however, claim this is a negative trend.

First and foremost, good exchanges enables consumers to buy product with high quality everywhere. People from developing countries have the chance to use good products and have access to more modern technology from more developed countries and world's super power. Furthermore, to some certain extent, this also means cultural exchange among countries. You can find a shop selling kimono Japanese's traditional garment from other parts of Asia. The chance to get better grasp of other countries in or outside our cultural sphere is increased, and so does the bond among nations.

A related criticism, however, is that buying the same products everywhere has a negative impact on domestic trade. For example, in Vietnam-a developing and trade surplus country, people can buy durable and high-quality items from Japan, South Korea, Europe... within walking distance. We get so used to it that it is hard for most of us to buy and accept lower-quality products from Vietnamese companies. Due to this, domestic products do not have chance to develop and companies do not raise enough funds to launch better version of the same said products.

Having said that, this also means companies have to put more effort in producing goods that meet consumer's need. In exchange, consumers will be introduced with a wider selection of items to choose from. In the long run, consumers are the ones who gain benefit, so as an individual, I find this a positive development.

Overall, that countries are becoming similar to each other seems an inevitable stage in the development of society. This challenges companies to produce things that bring satisfaction to consumers worldwide, thus making society more developed.