Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Learning a foreign language has long ago not just been a privilege only the rich has. These days, almost everyone knows at least another language besides their mother tongue. Some claim that they choose to learn a language only to travel to that country or to seek a decent job. However, there are also people who argue that learning a language is more than that. Before rendering my opinion, I think it is important to look at the arguments on both sides.

Obviously, knowing one's language is an indispensable to work in that country. Speaking more than one language also gives people more job opportunities in their home country. For instance, Vietnam and China cooperates in many fields. As a result, although a Vietnamese does not really have an interest in Chinese, he or she cannot deny that speaking Chinese will help him or her find a better job with better pay. As to traveling abroad, having known that country's main language undeniably has many benefits. You won't have much difficulty asking directions and prices, reading signs or information in a historical site.

Nevertheless, nothing can be done well without passion. Many people choose to learn a language not because that language is popular and will bring them a lot of job opportunities, they learn it simply because they love that country's culture. Just as the saying goes:"To have a second language is to have a second soul", having known another language will give you greater insight about a country's culture. In addition, for book lovers, it provides a great opportunity to read novels and literature works in their native language.

Admittedly, there are merits to both arguments. As far as I am concerned, I'm in favour of the latter view. There are so much more about a language to learn and love other than travel and job opportunities. To sum up, when it comes to selecting a language to learn; other reasons, such as culture and literature, should as well be taken into consideration.