In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities, Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

In a number of countries some people think it as necessary to spend huge sums of money on constructing new railway lines for faster travel while other believe on spending money to improve existing public transport.

In my opinion both the statements are correct. However, my opinion is based on various factors such as economy of a country, room for improvement of existing transport, need of new transport system or not and so on.

If we are going to spend money to improve existing public transport then we are clearly stating that those systems have become outdated and need to be updated in terms of speed of travel, comfort, ease of access, capacity and timings. If we are lacking anywhere in these areas and any other that might come to mind, then yes, we should spend money on improvements rather than constructing new ones, otherwise not.

However, spending huge sums of money on constructing new railway lines should be our last resort. It should be done only after we are sure that the existing public transport can not be improved any further and that we have hit a wall. Not only that but we should also keep in mind that not all countries can afford building new rail roads. Building anything country wide puts a lot of pressure on country's economy. Getting faster transport at the cost of country's economy is not a brilliant idea.

For instance, countries like France and Spain have technology and wealth to make hyper loops but they stuck to the idea of improving existing technology. This is because they knew that constructing new rail lines will be like drainage of country's wealth.

To sum up, i would say that any country should pen down their options with an open mind but choose the one which suits them in a longer run.