The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend.

The phenomenon of the aging population tends to be increased in recent years, especially in developed countries. With this trend, we can perceive that the pros and cons existed parallel.

It is so apparent that a large number of aging people retire after hard working years will lead to a profound effect on the worker force of the countries. We usually say that better comes with ages; aging people have lots of experience in working and playing the main role for almost all activities of the countries. They used to face problems or difficulties in work, so they can know how to remedy mistakes and figure out new ways to complete their work the most effectively. They are people playing an extremely crucial role in making economical development of the countries. If the aging staff retire and the younger generations are shortage, it will be a big concern for every country. Lots of elderly people may become a burden for the government because it takes a big budget to support making their living, and treating the infirmities of age.

By the way, it is also some positive sides which are undeniable. Although they are in retiring age, they also contribute to the communities actively. To illustrate, in school, the life experience of the elderly can be taken advantage of. Students who learn lots of theories in skills books, or history books teaching about events in the past will be more interested in learning if the elderly who used to experience these events or apply these theories are invited in some learning period time. Also, thanks to precious knowledge collected during the lifetime of the elderly, the young generation can maintain a vital link between the past and the present, some traditions and customs are also be preserved and brought into play. Another way in which the older generation can continue to fulfill their valuable experience is that the organizations, companies can invite them to work part-time as a mentor for younger employees.

In brief, the trend of the aging population has both upside and downside. With a positive perspective, we can realize that increasing the number of the elderly does not cause as many negative effects as we think.