The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. to what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Some people believe that traditional attitudes encouraged by the elderly to the youngster are not applicable in modern society. It is agreed as several life conditions changed and the skills needed are more dynamic these days.

The emergence of different life conditions makes traditional approaches derived by the elderly not applicable in modern society, preventing youngsters from leveraging their potential. This is to say that some perspectives are outdated and not relevant to solving current problems. For instance, most elderly might encourage to store wealth in gold as it was a help to them during the 1960s crisis. However, as the geopolitical issue happens today, the gold price is unpredictable, forcing youngsters to opt for a digital asset called Bitcoin, which has the same storing value as gold. Bitcoin price surpassed gold by 200% in 2022, making it the fastest-growing asset among the others.

Another reason why traditional notions are not relevant to people today is the emersion of demanded new skills, combining many skills at once. The emergence of modern technology opens many employment opportunities that need employees to have some intersection of skills to fulfill the labor demand. According to a survey done by McKinsey in 2020, the demanding skill for a social media content creator reached its peak at 70% in companies in Jakarta to leverage their marketing strategy. This occupation did not even exist five years ago, yet it requires presenting, performing, communicating, and editing skills. Hence, asking the elderly about the traditional social media marketing approach will not help.

To conclude, traditional approaches persuaded by the senior generations are not relevant to young societies recently as life has changed and skills demanded vary more than in the past. If possible, the traditional views could only be applied to the cultural aspect.