You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

There are valid arguments on whether the ideas of the older generation about living, thinking, and behaving are beneficial equipment for the younger generations' future lives. In my opinion, this is helpful for the younger generations, and I will explain the reasons in the following paragraphs.

First, the elders have a lot of experience tackling predicaments because they have lived longer than the youngsters. As a result, they can prepare and give precious advice to help future generations foresee, avoid, and find solutions for difficult situations. This is why many companies keep their older workers or even recruit experienced employees for adviser positions to guide or consult because this will bring advantages to their companies. Second, there are numerous traditions, cultures, and customs that the next generation requires and that will be passed down by the older generation in order to prevent cultural identity loss. If young people lose their cultural identities, they will no longer feel a sense of belonging. This may result in actions that harm people and communities, such as criminal behaviour.

Admittedly, there are several drawbacks to older people’s traditional ideas that may not be advantageous for younger people. In the field of technology, for example, the younger may have some advantages over the older due to technological advancement. In addition, they are young, so they will acquire new skills faster than older individuals. However, I believe that technical skills alone are insufficient for success.

In conclusion, the younger generation needs the older generation for guidance because, without proper guidance, they cannot live and successful lives.