The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

To work is to live independently and to survive in society. Nowadays, that senior citizens have to compete against their junior counterparts for better job positions is rampant, especially, in metropolises where the job market is in high demand. This trend definitely has some impacts, but it can be tackled effectively with a few simple steps.

There are some negative consequences stemming from this unfair competition. Firstly, due to the fact that ageing always ensues (results in) with the deterioration in health and performance, old people have to suffer certain disadvantages when they apply for jobs, even if they possessed the same qualifications and skills compared with the young. Secondly, old-timers usually face the catch 22 situations. Specifically, they try to maintain their positions and thrive against the young in the workplace by undertaking more projects and assignments; however, working excessively can put them at greater risk of acquiring mental disorder or physical fatigue that is negatively linked to their job performances. Moreover, this drawback also makes senior workers more vulnerable to cutbacks as companies tend to retain younger ones who often ensure (generate) higher productivity and display better morale.

There are a few solutions that can be taken by both enterprises and governments. For the old, lack of physical superiority (strength) is compensated by work experience accumulated throughout the years, which means that companies should delegate them the task of providing training to newly - recruited workers. This approach is not only physically and mentally more suitable to the old but it also maintains their respectable role in society as those who instil knowledge and motivation to later generations. Furthermore, governments can take an active role by opening (introducing) free courses that help older applicants update their skills and qualifications. Although the older job applicants become, the narrower their career prospects are, there would always be vacancies available for those equipped with adequate technical skills.

In conclusion, it is true that age discrimination in the job market leads to some downfalls, but they can be dealt with if companies and governments are willing to offer help to the old.