One of the consequences of improved medical care is that the people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days medical care is getting better due to advanced technology. Scientists are discovering more and more combinations that can cure diseases and some that help people live longer. While a lot of people consider living longer a good thing, I believe that both the advantages and disadvantages should be weighed.

Initially, the advantages of longer lives are that families can spend more time with each other. It was possible centuries back due to healthier lifestyles. there were 3 or 4 generations that were alive at once, but now we would be even lucky to have 3 generations alive at all. Studies have shown that life expectancy is dropping and is estimated to be around 65 for the new generation unless they live an overly healthy life, but thanks to the better health care, the expectancy can be increased. Likewise, being able to live longer also means that people can finally do what they want to do. people go through their whole lives trying to make a living, thus they never had enough time to do what they wished. Now with longer lives, they can change that. Another advantage is that you get to experience more changes that happen throughout your whole life. For example, a person who lived for 80 years would have experienced more changes than those who lived for 70 years.

However, some disadvantages need to be considered. Society is filled with good and bad people. This means that bad people can also get longer lives by seeking the necessary health care. A good person who increases his life would help others to live longer. In contrast, a bad person would harm and do stuff to others, consequently shortening their lives. We have hunger or a type of greed in us, meaning we would not stop at trying to make people live longer. Scientists would investigate in ways to become an immortal thus resulting in experimenting on people and corruption. People would desperately try to hold onto others because of over-attachment.

Given the above, it may seem as advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Yet, I believe that the disadvantages will have a far greater effect on society. We should learn to let people go and let nature take its course. The thirst for greed should not be satisfied.